I know so many people so addicted to facebook because they want to know what's going on in other peoples life's, what they are up to, what are their likes and dislikes, what are they doing in this very moment... it's... tiring.
Speaking for myself and perhaps most people but the first thing I look for when I log into my facebook account is if there's any notifications and I immediately think someone commented on my post and who doesn't like receiving a feedback from something they said? But what most people don't know is that that is exactly what get's you addicted to facebook, because you are feeding your ego with "greatness" and so you keep up with similar posts or if that's not working anymore you look for other things and see if that hits and once again you get back to that "ego throne" and really, you're not doing anything for your self there anymore, or more likely, they try to get "approvals" from other people so that they can feel better about themselves... which is kinda sad. I was a part of that until I realized that it was my ego the whole time that was asking for it and not me-me, I wasn't doing it with purpose anymore, I kept on posting and posting just to get a feedback from someone and it was EXHAUSTING and I know I'm not the only one who felt like that, or some people still feel like that.
I wonder, for those that have huge egos, what would it be like for them if there was no more facebook? Would they like scream to people so that they can be heard, noticed rather than LISTENED? would they try to give out fliers of themselves and yell out "DO YOU LIKE IT? IT'S ME! DO YOU LIKE ME?!"
Damn... take a chill pill. Now, I posted that question on facebook yesterday to get some feedback's, to see if it was something that people have thought of already and I got some responses implying: twittering all day (which is almost the same thing only that in twitter you post even more about your day, your thoughts all that), doing nothing (which makes me think that perhaps he meant that he'll look for something useful to do to fill the emptiness of the ego), go back to Hi5 (even though he said it as a joke I'm pretty sure a lot of people would go back to it too), *loads a shotgun* (well, it's clear, that person is always eager for some sort of attention. Been there, done that, I'm over it already and it wasn't easy) and finally read (I think that's the most positive feedback I've read) I didn't really get so many responses, though it doesn't bother me, it's just enough to develop a small opinion.
Though, it doesn't always have to be bad (the usual *sigh*) it has helped to get jobs, create jobs, promotion, get in contact with really old friends, people you haven't heard in years but other than that, it's just for egos, in the end.
I remember when it was first starting, I had to be accepted by someone who knew me and say that I also attended the "same school" as her. She's Canadian, though, don't need her permission anymore, haha.
No one was on it, so, I didn't really see any purpose to stay so, I deleted my account and when it started to get popular again I reopened my account and started using it again. And pretty much used it just to upload pictures and play weird games... what ever, it wasn't all that fun. Then I let it, well, sort of left it again when I was dating... then I realized that it can really destroy you, by the end of my relationship someone had uploaded a picture of "him" with another girl and that's when I realized that he wasn't in love with me anymore. Of course it hurt. He realized that I saw it and blocked away from me... he anyways lied, facebook is fatal and truthful, sometimes. That's why it's recommended that kids shouldn't add their family or just the parents on their facebook, you say one thing or post something that they don't like and we have a molotov cocktail with the family, luckily, my mom is an opened minded person, though, she knows when to intervene.
Now... what would I do with no facebook? I'd be soooooooooooooooooo relieved. I'd actually finish my homework's on time and even before due date, I'd read a lot more (like I used to before facebook appeared), I'd paint more, draw more, write more (of that I am sure, I've always loved writing, since the first moment my mom taught me how to write my name I was all over writing) I'd be a very happy creature without facebook but even I know I can't bring myself to delete facebook, unless I was willing to leave everything... or most behind me. Someday I will, just, not yet.
I hope most of you have questioned yourself about this, and not just nod your head in agreement or disagreement, what ever may be your opinion. If your unhappy, being so much on facebook, then stay away from it for a while and DO something that you used to love doing! Why not?
Off you go.